How to Apply
Both parties must appear in person at the Recorder's office.
When to Apply (Setting up an appointment is suggested / recommended)
Tuesday & Thursday (except legal holidays) are the only days to apply for a marriage license.
Hours: 8:00 am – 12:00 pm; 1:00 pm – 4:00 pm. It is recommended to call (417)847-2914 to schedule an appointment
When to Pick Up License
Anyone may pick up the license upon completion of application and payment.
The marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and may
be used anywhere within the state of Missouri.The license fee of $55 must be paid by cash at the time of
application. No refunds.
What to Do With the License
You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes
your marriage. The person performing the ceremony
must complete the license, have two witnesses sign it, and return it to the
Recorder's Office within 15 days after the wedding. The license remains on file permanently in the Recorder's Office.
Birthday, social security number, full legal name,
level of education, race & date last marriage(s) ended. Both parties must sign
an affidavit that all information is true and correct.
Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under
the laws of the State of Missouri.
No distinction is made between resident and non-resident individuals.
Applicants must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent.
Persons between the ages of 15 and 17 may obtain a license with the consent
of a parent or legal guardian. Parents or legal guardians must give consent
in person (at the time of application) and have proper identification
Applicants must provide a current Driver's License, Passport or Visa.
Previously married applicants must give the date their last marriage ended.
Persons divorced less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they
acknowledge, in writing, they understand the divorce can be appealed or set
aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.
|Fee for:||$ (ea)|
|Marriage License||$ 55.00|
|Parental Consent||$ 1.00|
|Certified Copies||$ 9.00|
Note: All fees are payable at time of application